Photo: Detroit Free Press

Detroit Edison Public School Academy Early College of Excellence’s Gabrielle Elliott poses with her 2020 Miss Basketball trophy.

   The Mick McCabe Miss Basketball award trophy is staying at the Detroit Edison Public School Academy Early College of Excellence for another year.

   Gabrielle Elliot was named the 2020 recipient of the award for the top senior in the state by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan in a ceremony on Friday, March 13, at Edison.

   Former Edison teammate and current Mississippi State star Rickea Jackson earned the award last season. It is the first time in the 39 years of the award that a school has had back-to-back Miss Basketball winners.

   “I told her that I got it and she had to get it,” Jackson told reporters. “I think it’s very much deserved. When I was on the team, Gabby was always that hard worker. She was always the one coming in first in running. She was that player wanting to get better.”

   The 5-foot-11-inch Elliott, who has committed to Clemson, received 3,891 points in the voting by BCAM members. East Lansing’s Aaliyah Nye (committed to Illinois) was second with 3,367 points, and Hartland’s Whitney Sollom (committed to Michigan) was third with 3,335 points.

   This season, Elliott averaged 22.77 points, 9.05 rebounds, 3.77 assists, 3.55 steals and 1 block per game.

   “Gabrielle is a fierce competitor who does whatever it takes to win,” said Monique Brown, Edison head coach.  “She is such a multi-dimensional player who will guard the opponents’ best player, find a way to dig and scratch for the last rebound and also find to put the ball in the basket for the winning shot.”

   Elliott was hoping to complete her high school career as a four-time state champion before the season was abruptly suspended on Thursday afternoon by the Michigan High School Athletic Association due to COVID-19 concerns.

   “Of course I’m happy to have gotten this award, it’s a great honor, but it's senior year and I do want to finish out the season and to know that it possibly won’t happen, that there’s a chance that it won’t, it’s crazy, it’s kind of heartbreaking, but something like this is sure to get my mind off of it,” said Elliott

   Edison won the Class C championship in 2017 and 2018 and the Division 2 championship in 2019. Elliott played a key role in each of those championships.


  Elliott had 20 points and five rebounds in the 51-34 Class C title game win over Ypsilanti Arbor Preparatory at Calvin College in 2018, and then had 15 points and six rebounds in last season’s 77-58 Division 2 title game win over Freeland.

  With Elliott as a starter since she was a freshman, Edison has an incredible 94-7 record, playing some of the toughest competition in Michigan and surrounding states. Edison has a 49-1 record the past two seasons. Edison avenged that single loss from 2018-19 earlier this season, beating Ohio powerhouse Columbus Africentric Early Colleg 68-59 on Dec. 28.

   Edison was ranked No. 1 in Division 2 this season and was the heavy favorite to earn the four-peat. Edison was 20-0 during the regular season and had reached the regional final against Flat Rock after winning their district championship.

   The only girls basketball team to win four straight titles in Michigan was Flint Northern (1978-81).

   Elliott was also named the Michigan Gatorade Player of Year for girls basketball this season. Jackson won the award the past two seasons.

   Elliot has volunteered locally with Steps in the Right Direction, which donates shoes to underprivileged students in the Detroit area, and she has donated her time as a youth tutor.


> Detroit Free Press: Detroit Edison's Gabrielle Elliott named Michigan Miss Basketball

> Detroit News: Gabby Elliott gives Detroit Edison back-to-back winners of Michigan Miss Basketball

> MLive: Detroit Edison’s Gabby Elliott is 2020 Miss Basketball award winner

> Detroit Free Press: 2019 Michigan Miss Basketball: Detroit Edison's Rickea Jackson

> StudentandAthlete: Detroit Edison’s Gabrielle Elliott named the Michigan Gatorade Player of the Year


Photo: Detroit Free Press

Detroit Edison Public School Academy Early College of Excellence’s Gabrielle Elliott and her teammates pose with her 2020 Miss Basketball trophy.

Past Miss Basketball winners

2020 Gabrielle Elliott, Detroit Edison Public School Academy Early College of Excellence (Clemson

2019 Rickea Jackson, Detroit Edison Public School Academy Early College of Excellence (Mississippi State)

2018 Jaida Hampton, East Lansing (Wichita State)

2017 Jordan Walker, Muskegon Mona Shores (Western Michigan)

2016 Kysre Gondrezick, Benton Harbor (Michigan, West Virginia)

2015 Tania Davis, Goodrich (Iowa)

2014 Lexi Gussert, Crystal Falls Forrest Park (Michigan State)

2013 Tori Jankoska, Freeland (Michigan State)

2012 Madison Ristovski, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett (Michigan)

2011 Jasmine Hines, Central Lake (Michigan State)

2010 Klarissa Bell, East Lansing (Michigan State)

2009 Jenny Ryan, Saginaw Nouvel (Michigan)

2008 Kellie Watson, Ionia (Notre Dame/Grand Valley State)

2006 Brenna Banktson, Frankfort (Western Michigan)

2005 Allyssa DeHaan, Grandville (Michigan State)

2004 Tiffanie Shives, Lansing Christian (Michigan State/Gonzaga)

2003 Krista Clement, St. Ignace (Michigan)

2002 Danielle Kamm, Saginaw Nouvel (Marquette)



2001 Liz Shimek, Maple City Glen Lake (Michigan State)

2000 Tabitha Pool, Ann Arbor Huron (Michigan)

1999 Vicki Krapohl, Mt. Pleasant (Duke)

1998 Kristin Koetsier, Grandville (Western Michigan)

1997 Aiysha Smith, Redford Bishop Borgess (St. John's/LSU)

1996 Deanna Nolan, Flint Northern (Georgia)

1995 Maxann Reese, Redford Bishop Borgess (Michigan State)

1994 Kim Knuth, St. Joseph (Toledo)

1993 Sally Sedlar, Manistee (Toledo/Central Michigan)

1992 Erinn Reed, Saginaw (Iowa/Kansas)

1991 Lisa Negri, Flint Powers (Ohio State)

1990 Markita Aldridge, Detroit Martin Luther King Jr. (UNC-Charlotte)

1989 Peggy Evans, Detroit Country Day (Tennessee/Ohio State)

1988 Jennifer Shasky, Birmingham Marian (George Washington)

1987 Dena Head, Plymouth Salem (Tennessee)

1986 Daedra Charles, Detroit DePorres (Tennessee)

1985 Franthea Price, River Rouge (Iowa)

1984 Emily Wagner, Livonia Ladywood (Stanford)

1983 Michele Kruty, Manistee (Dayton)

1982 Sue Tucker, Okemos (Michigan State)

1981 Julie Polakowski, Leland (Michigan State)